Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: September BTBOTM - Being The Booker: Ruthless Aggression

Bookerman

Status
      Country                    Europe

September BTBOTM - Being The Booker: Ruthless Aggression

Back by popular demand!

… well, back!

I’m not very good at these types of posts……

– BEING THE BOOKER: RUTHLESS AGGRESSION –
    “The Road To WrestleMania XIX”

The bloom is off the rose for the WWE in November 2002. The name change isn’t even the biggest issue, despite the cries of the IWC…

Ever since the critically acclaimed WrestleMania X-Seven in 2001, preceded by the purchase of WCW, the company has suffered a gradual decrease in popularity. The hotly anticipated ‘Invasion’ angle was a creative flop. Many of the top stars of the Attitude Era have either slowed down, burned out or became stale, whilst the crop of talent below have failed to reach the same heights of success and popularity as those that came before them.

The brand extension had its merits in theory. Audiences wouldn’t become burned out on the same faces on screen every Monday and Thursday. The most popular stars of the prior era; ‘Stone Cold’ Steve Austin and The Rock, could head up their own shows in an attempt to spread the star power, and allow a greater number of talent to be showcased and develop. Except; both mega stars are currently out of the picture for different reasons, with little hope of either returning on a full time basis.

Instead, Raw and Smackdown are being headed up by the likes of Triple H, The Undertaker, Chris Jericho and Kurt Angle. New faces have been given a chance to shine and become stars of their own; exemplified by the monster push of the ‘Next Big Thing’ Brock Lesnar, who became Undisputed WWE Champion just five months into his main roster run. But popularity of the product continues to dip.